Team UK

The UK’s national quidditch team, Team UK, consists of the best players in the United Kingdom. Most recently captained by Seb Waters at the Quidditch World Cup 2018, these players represent UK quidditch at international tournaments twice a year, competing in the European Games and the Quidditch World Cup.

Players are dedicated athletes and activists to the sport, donning the Team UK kits with pride as they show both the elite level of play the UK can offer and the sports values we honour. Many players are activists in the quidditch community, setting up or helping run both university and community teams.

Team UK’s most recent tournament was the IQA Quidditch World Cup this summer in Florence, Italy, where they finished in fourth place out of 29 teams from five continents. They lost to the USA in their semi-final game, and lost a very close bronze medal match to Turkey.

2017 marked a record breaking victory for Team UK, where the team won the European Games after beating France to take the gold.

In 2016, Team UK competed at the Quidditch World Cup in Frankfurt, coming third after beating Team Canada, missing out on silver and gold to USA and Australia.

Team UK have a history of being leaders in the global sport, hosting the first ever international tournament, the Summer Games, in Oxford, UK. The first time international teams had formally competed against each other in a structured tournament, the event kickstarted quidditch in the UK, resulting in an explosion of growth and development of the sport and leading the UK to where it is today in terms of quidditch development and teams.

Team UK’s Legacy:

Tournament Location Team UK’s Result
2019 European Games Bamberg, Germany 3rd
2018 Quidditch World Cup Florence, Italy 4th
2017 European Games Oslo, Norway 1st
2016 Quidditch World Cup Frankfurt, Germany 3rd
2015 European Games Sarteano, Italy 2nd
2014 Global Games Burnaby, Canada 4th
2012 Summer Games Oxford, UK 5th

In 2015 QuidditchUK launched the Team UK Training Squad. The Team UK Training Squad is the standing squad of Team UK and is reselected by the the Team UK coaches every few months to ensure the best players in the country are included. 2016 saw the launch of the Team UK Expansion Squad. The Expansion Squad aims to give players not yet good enough for the Team UK Training Squad a pathway to the squad and to elevate the level of quidditch in the UK. Both the Team UK Training Squad and Team UK Expansion Squad were the first of their kind worldwide.

As of July 2019 the Team UK Training Squad is as follows:

Team UK Training Squad:

Coaches Keepers Chasers Beaters Seekers
James Thanangadan, Head Coach Alex Greenhalgh Aaron Veale Alex Carpenter Callum Lake
Jemma Thripp, Team UK Manager Alex Macartney Abbi Harris Alice Walker Jonathan Purvis
Jay Holmes, Assistant Coach Elliot Fisher Asia Piatek Anjit Aulakh Jordan Aymer-Jeffrey
Seb Waters, Chaser Coach Mat Croft Ben Malpass Ben Guthrie
Bill Orridge, Beater Coach Seb Waters Bex Lowe Bill Orridge
Ben Morton, Seeker Coach Ed Brett Carina Werner
Hannah Ridley Dan Trick
Lauren Sterry Jacopo Sartori
Luke Trevett Jan Mikolajczak
Jeniva Chambers Kerry Aziz
Natasha Ferenczy Lucy Q
Reuben Thompson
Sarah Ridley
Steve Withers
Tom Norton
Tommy Ruler
Tua Karling

As of July 2019 the Team UK Expansion Squad is as follows:

Team UK Expansion Squad:

Coaches Keepers Chasers Beaters Seekers
James Burnett, Head Coach Christopher Lawrence Ben Honey Anna O’Gara
Judith Ballinger, Expansion Coordinator Chloé Hemingway Chris Thomas
Chloe Smith Christo Cole
Ellinor Alseth Opsal Emily Hymers
Emily Arnold Gabri Hall-Rapa
Hannah Garland Iain
Jack Kohli Lewis Boast
Joe Kernaghan Mikey Orridge
Katie Dickens Nat Welham
Kat Jack Tayyeb Ali
Lewis Dixon Zach Wright
Lydia Calder
Mike Stakesby-Lewis
Olly Barker
Rudi Obasi-Adams
Rosie Inman
Samantha Frohlich
Troy Kelly-Weekes

In another quidditch worldwide first, in 2017 QuidditchUK launched the Team UK Research and Analysis department, tasked with implementing a comprehensive system of data-orientated support for the Team UK coaches and players. The Research and Analysis team, headed by Jay Holmes, will included Data Analysts and the Team UK scouts who will both contribute to the Team UK Selection Process.

To support both squads and the research and analysis department, the Team UK administration team comprises three volunteer administrators who each take responsibility for one of: organising all logistical elements of tournament attendance; organising Team UK training weekends; and organising Expansion Squad training weekends.

The Team UK administration team are:
Team UK Manager: Jemma Thripp
Training Squad Coordinator: Bex Lowe
Expansion Squad Coordinator: Judith Ballinger.

The Team UK Research and Analysis department are:
Head of Research and Analysis: Jay Holmes
Scouts: James Burnett, Ben Pooley, James Thanangadan, Ollie Riley, Dan Trick, Lucy Q, Tommy Morgan, Dave Goddin, Seb Waters, Ashara Peiris, Anna Barton.