Team UK’s roster unveiled ahead of World Cup 2018

Team UK are sending the nation’s top players to compete in the 2018 IQA Quidditch World Cup this June to defend the UK’s position as one of the best teams in the world. The 25-player squad will represent the UK and compete against 31 other teams in their bid for gold in Florence, Italy from 30 June – 1 July.

The 2016 Quidditch World Cup saw Team UK snatch the bronze medal from Canada with a 190* – 60 point win. With eleven players from the 2016 squad returning, Team UK aims to build on their previous success to take on the reigning champions from Australia. Having made their international debut in 2012, Team UK has made six appearances on the global stage so far. The team has consistently grown since 2012, and won gold for the first time at last Summer’s European Games in Oslo.

Team UK will be taking a full squad of 21 players plus four alternates, as allowed by the Tournament Roster Policy. The team captain for this tournament will be Seb Waters.

The 2018 Team UK roster is comprised of:

Anjit Aulakh
Kerry Aziz
Ed Brett
Alex Carpenter
Ash Cooper
Alex Greenhalgh
Andrew Hull
Franky Kempster
Bex Lowe
Ben Malpass
Jan Mikolajczak
Tom Norton
Jess O’Neill
Bill Orridge
Asia Piatek
Jonathan Purvis
Lucy Q
Jacopo Sartori
Tom Stevens
James Thanangadan
Reuben Thompson
Jemma Thripp
Luke Trevett
Seb Waters (C)
Jackie Woodburn

Photo credit: Ajantha Abey Quidditch Photography