Team UK’s roster unveiled ahead of World Cup 2018

Team UK are sending the nation’s top players to compete in the 2018 IQA Quidditch World Cup this June to defend the UK’s position as one of the best teams in the world. The 25-player squad will represent the UK and compete against 31 other teams in their bid for gold in Florence, Italy from 30 June – 1 July.

The 2016 Quidditch World Cup saw Team UK snatch the bronze medal from Canada with a 190* – 60 point win. With eleven players from the 2016 squad returning, Team UK aims to build on their previous success to take on the reigning champions from Australia. Having made their international debut in 2012, Team UK has made six appearances on the global stage so far. The team has consistently grown since 2012, and won gold for the first time at last Summer’s European Games in Oslo.

Team UK will be taking a full squad of 21 players plus four alternates, as allowed by the Tournament Roster Policy. The team captain for this tournament will be Seb Waters.

The 2018 Team UK roster is comprised of:

Anjit Aulakh
Kerry Aziz
Ed Brett
Alex Carpenter
Ash Cooper
Alex Greenhalgh
Andrew Hull
Franky Kempster
Bex Lowe
Ben Malpass
Jan Mikolajczak
Tom Norton
Jess O’Neill
Bill Orridge
Asia Piatek
Jonathan Purvis
Lucy Q
Jacopo Sartori
Tom Stevens
James Thanangadan
Reuben Thompson
Jemma Thripp
Luke Trevett
Seb Waters (C)
Jackie Woodburn

Photo credit: Ajantha Abey Quidditch Photography

Development Cup 2018 Tournament Format and Structure

The tournament will follow a structure of two rounds of pool play followed by bracket play for the top eight teams and consolation games for the bottom five teams. This structure allows for the maximum amount of games so that teams can develop over the weekend.

Pool Play

There will be four fixed seeds, one in each group initially. These seeds will be the top two ranked teams from Northern and Southern; St. Andrews Snidgets, Glasgow Grim Reapers, Bathilisks, and Oxford Quidlings. There will then be a first round of pool play in these groups; A, B, C and D. These groups have been drawn as follows:

Group A Group B Group C Group D
Glasgow Grim Reapers St Andrews Snidgets Bathilisks Oxford Quidlings
Stirling Ridgebacks Preston Poltergeists Northern Wyverns Quidditch – Belfast Manchester Minotaurs
Northern Lights London Unbreakables Sheffield Sealions The Flying Catapults
Derby Daemons

After the first round of pool play is complete, the groups will be reshuffled into new groups; E, F, G, and H. This will be done by the top ranked team in each group moving “up” a group e.g. A into D, B into A, C into B, and D into C, and the lowest ranked team in each group moving “down” a group e.g. A into B, B into C, C into D and D into A. In the case of group D, the two bottom teams will move into pool A. This is to ensure that there is more even number of games played by the team initially in group D and that teams aren’t disadvantaged by initially being put into group D.

In order to rank the teams, the QuidditchUK ranking criteria that was used for BQC will also be used for this tournament:

1. Select as appropriate:
1a. For Ranking Intra-Group: Number of Wins
1b. For Ranking Inter-Group: Group Position
1c. For Final Rankings: Stage of Elimination
2. Highest Quaffle Point Differential (QPD), with a maximum of 90 QPD able to be accumulated from any single game
3. Head to Head (where applicable)
4. Number of Winning Snitch Catches
5. Lowest Total Regulation Time Played
6. Fewest Red Cards
7. Fewest Yellow Cards
8. Fewest Blue Cards
9. Coin toss

There will then be a second round of pool play and rankings will then be determined. The rematch that would occur between the two teams that have moved into group E (D3 and D4), will not be played to again ensure that teams aren’t disadvantaged by initially being put into group D.

Group A Group B Goup C Group D > Group E Group F Group G Group H
A1 B1 C1 D1 > B1 C1 D1 A1
A2 B2 C2 D2 > A2 B2 C2 D2
A3 B3 C3 D3     > D3 A3 B3 C3
D4 > D4

Once pool play has finished, teams will be split into two groups, group X (those that played four games) and group Y (those that played five games). These groups will then be ranked according to the ranking critera specified above.

Group X (4 games) Group Y (5 games)
A1 D1
C1 D2
B2 D3
C2 D4
A3 B1
B3 A2

Bracket Play

The top four teams of group X and group Y will progress into bracket play to determine their final rank. The remaining teams of group X and of group Y will play a series of consolation games.

The consolation games will consist of the following: X5 vs X6 and Y6 vs X7. This will be followed by a three way round robin between the winners of these two games and Y5.

Challinor Resigns as QuidditchUK Events Director

It is with great sadness that we announce the resignation of Tom Challinor as Events Director of QuidditchUK.

Tom has been of paramount importance to running our flagship events for the past three years, starting as Tournament Director at Northern Cup in 2015 and the British Quidditch Cup in 2016. He has been a key figure in running all tournaments since then, from being an extra committee hand to a more advisory role at our fifth BQC last month. In this time we have increased to four events a season of constantly higher quality, something that wouldn’t have been possible without his hard work.

We would like to thank Tom for all his work within QuidditchUK, and wish him well in his future endeavours. He will officially be stepping down after Development Cup leading into the handover of the position.

The position of Events Director is now open, please visit for more information and details on how to apply.